Paranoid Much?

So as I was writing my last post, the wind was howling outside and surely ever sane person was tucked away, nice and warm, in there homes. Well, that’s what I thought anyway. I began to hear crunching of snow and it sounded as if it were right outside on my porch. My heart nearly leapt out of my chest and I was beginning to panic.

I thought it may have been someone who broke down and was coming to my door in need of assistance. Then I thought maybe they wouldn’t actually need any assistance and it was just a ruse. My living room and kitchen lights were on so I couldn’t use the whole “we’re asleep” excuse and I began to panic even more about what I would do when they knocked on my door. In the middle nearly having a nervous breakdown I text my husband telling him someone is outside our home.

His response: 911

For some reason that made me panic even more. He usually calms me down, but now he’s telling me 911. I nearly called, but I took a breath and forced myself to think for a moment because I was hearing a lot of crunching, but no one was approaching our door and as I moved about the house trying to stealthily peak out a window to see what was actually going on the sound seemed to follow me and I couldn’t pinpoint where it was actually coming from. I went out into the garage in the hopes of peaking out that window to maybe find my answer, but it didn’t work. It also sounded like someone was…. shoveling our driveway?

Well aren’t you courteous axe murderers! I thought to myself. It became increasingly apparent to me that my mind was blowing things WAY out of proportion, but I still had to find out where that sound was coming from. I turned off all the lights (after locking dead bolts and chaining my doors) and carefully peaked out my living room window. What I saw made me both angry and relieved: My neighbor across the street decided 11pm was a good time to shovel snow from his driveway. It’s actually kind of amazing how well sound carries itself across the street. Maybe the snow helped channel it since it’s piled up? I don’t know. Either way, crisis averted.

Paranoia has been awakened inside of me, but I still couldn’t help but laugh at how ridiculous I was behaving. My husband is probably sitting in his booth, palm firmly planted on face, trying to remember all the things he loves about me lol.

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

