My Experience with Surgery

I get to the hospital and I get settled into my room. I have nurses and doctors asking me dozens of times, “What are you here for?” and “Are you here of your own free will?” worded differently each time. After they were reassured that I was indeed requesting this surgery of my own free will they went over what would be happening while I was awake then what would happen once I was asleep.

I was told I would get wheeled into the OR and would move onto their bed, they would have me position myself properly then get my feet in the stirrups and the anesthesiologist would let me know they would be knocking me out. After that they would cauterize my fallopian tubes, blah blah blah. Onward.

It’s time for me to get wheeled in, right before we left my room the anesthesiologist gave me a shot of some drug that would help me remain calm and relaxed. It did not take long to take effect. Trying to put a hair net on while on that stuff is next to impossible lol. I don’t remember the whole trip to the OR, but I do remember arriving there and getting positioned on the bed. They told me to scoot down a little more and that is all I remember. I don’t recall putting my feet in the stirrups or anything. I was out like a light and woke up in a loud room. I kept hearing someone saying “Breathe. Breathe.” and I would take a deep breath in and out but I wouldn’t inhale again until I heard someone say “Breathe.” I don’t know if they were even talking to me, but it was like my body forgot how to breathe on it’s own. It was a bit scary, but as I began to wake up a little more I was breathing fine on my own.

I don’t remember getting wheeled off to my room, but suddenly there I was. My throat was horribly sore and I couldn’t stay awake for more than five minutes at a time. Pretty soon they had me walk over and sit in a comfy chair. I think I even asked if I could take it home. Obviously the answer was no. Dammit. They were taking my vitals and then my kids came in with my husband. Immediately Bubby tried to jump onto me and every nurse that was in there got a bit panicked and told him no no. I was just sitting there smiling like an idiot. I kept rubbing my nose and (apparently) telling anyone who would listen that I felt like I was drunk (when I get drunk my nose feels numb). I was feeling amazing and that night I got the best sleep of my life.

Then I woke up. Folks, I was not kidding earlier when I said it felt like I got run over by a small train. They filled my abdomen up with gas (CO2 I believe) and they had told me it would cause my shoulder to ge achey. Our mattress didn’t do me any favors either. My abs hurt and I was still feeling some residual effects of the anesthesia and whatever other drug they had given me which did nothing for my pain, but kept me in a weird fog. They my son became sick and I had to sit with him in the ER and I nearly dozed off a few times.

Eventually we were released and they said he had an upper respiratory infection and gave us after care instructions. As much as I wanted to come home, that didn’t happen. We went grocery shopping instead. I was really pissy and my husband and I started arguing. Don’t worry, I set him straight later on. It’s been an interesting day today. Especially when Hubby and I were arguing I figured that would be a great time to take a percocet. Well, it sure made me feel amazing and pretty soon he couldn’t take me seriously because I was giggling.

Anywho, I love the hospital I went to. I had both my sons there and their staff and level of care is absolutely amazing. I am so thankful for them. Especially thankful to my doctor who was the first doctor in two years that didn’t give me any bullshit reasons for not tying my tubes.

I’ve tried several times to remember something, anything beyond my last memory before getting knocked out, but I can’t. Anesthesia is really weird lol and so is that first drug. Whew, it definitely relaxed me and I would like some more of that haha.

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

