Structure and Routines: A Love/Hate Relationship

I love/hate routines. They free/imprison me. They help me stay sane/drive me insane. Are you seeing the picture yet? Having more structure and a better routine has been a blessing/curse.

The Pros
My day runs so much smoother when I follow the routine.
My kids are happier with a set routine, they hear my alarm go off and they ask what it’s for. When I tell them they usually do what’s supposed to be done without a fuss.
I know that after certain chores I will have some free time so it makes it easier to keep momentum.
My husband and I fight a lot less about housework.

The Cons
Doing the same thing day after day after day makes me want to tear my face off.
When the kids decide they don’t want to do what they’re supposed to it drives me more insane than normal and I feel the pressure of time restraints.
If it takes a bit longer to clean than I initially anticipated I know I’m missing out on my downtime and I’ll have to roll right back into cleaning/doing something else.
My husband seems to think he’s exempt from the routine/chores.

I could keep going, but that’s the basic idea. It’s extremely conflicting for me and the really sad thing is my routine is very relaxed:

0700 – Wake up, make breakfast
0830 – Make beds/Do dishes
1000 – Clean something
1100 – Kids pick up toys
1200 – Make lunch
1300 – Quiet time begins
1500 – Quiet time ends
1600 – Kids pick up toys
1700 – Make Dinner
1830 – Bath time, brush teeth
1900 – Boys’ bedtime
1930 – Sissy’s bedtime
2000 – Make husband’s lunch
2030 – Do dishes

And that’s it. My life in a nutshell. When that routine gets messed up, I go nuts. When I keep doing that same damn routine every single day, I go nuts. I’m not quite sure how to keep going without losing my mind. I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to keep up with the routine before I get burnt out. I have always felt and believe whole-heartedly that structure and routine is key. It keeps people happy. So, why am I not happy? But I am happy, but I’m not…. I’m so sick of this inner battle.

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

