I’m Running Away… from Facebook… Temporarily.

At some point on January 1st 2015 I am deleting my Facebook account. I honestly think this is the best decision I’ve made this year lol. I’ve wanted to do this for about a year now. There are over 200 people on my friend’s list and I talk to maybe 10 of them at best. The others clog my news feed with their personal drama, political agenda, etc. which is fine, but once it’s challenged they turn so nasty. I’ll post my own stuff and then those same people will just begin attacking me.

If that were happening on a site like this one or some other public forum that would be expected, but these are people who are supposed to be my friends/family. I don’t understand why it has to get nasty.

Anyway, rather than go through my friend’s list and delete individuals whom I no longer care to know what’s going on in their lives (and possibly hurt feelings [I know, I’m kinda pathetic]), I’ve decided to just get rid of everyone and start from scratch. I’m going to keep this one very private and have only close family (and a few close and like-minded friends) on there. I am going to do my absolute best to keep my posts strictly relevant to my family, pics of the kids, status updates on how things are going with us, and that’s it.

It’s not just friends I have to worry about, but family too. One of my husband’s family members was on my friend’s list for a very brief time and the only interaction I ever had with her was very negative. Every message from her was her berating me for something that showed up on her news feed that involved me. One of them was me bashing the military. I said some nasty things, but I also stated I have lots of love for the military or at least for what it’s supposed to be and I support the troops and all that, but I have earned my right to speak what I want about the military because I served and I went through shit no one should have to go through. I was raped by my fellow shipmates on two separate occasions within two weeks of each other. The military kicked me out with and “Honorable under Medical Conditions”. They claimed no responsibility, the parties responsible went on unpunished, and my name was tarnished, so yeah, I can say whatever the fuck I want. Anyway, this woman (whom I was told is a heavily religious woman) goes on to say how terrible I am for posting such filth and that I should be ashamed because her son is in the Navy as is my husband and several other family members have served. She does not know my story and I’m pretty sure she doesn’t want to know, but that didn’t stop her from lashing out at me. The funniest thing in that situation is my own recruiter (who is now a chief and knows what happened to me) supported my completely.

That’s what Facebook should be; supportive. The people you have on your friends list should be filled with people who make you happy. So that’s what I’m doing. I don’t know when I’ll make my new account. Might be a month, might be a year. I don’t know. I am excited to get rid of it for a while though. No more notifications on my phone, fewer distractions, and fewer worries.

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

