The Toddler Cafe: Fast, Healthy, & Fun Ways to Feed Even the Pickiest Eater by Jennifer Carden

This book has been a sanity saver for sure. Money well spent. My daughter is very hyperactive and can’t hold still longer than five freaking minutes, so getting her to sit down for a meal is like trying to give a cat a bath. She used to eat anything and everything I gave her, but has recently become very picky. She used to love potatoes in any form, now she can’t stand them. She used to eat pasta like it was going out of style, now she’s like meh. I fight with her nearly every meal just to eat something, anything! I will beg, bargain, bribe, even sell my soul to the Devil (ok so maybe not that last one, but I’m desperate) just to get her to eat a whole meal. The results are rarely satisfying.

We bought this book for lunch ideas (because making pb&j sandwiches everyday is boring) and to my happy surprise, my picky daughter began eating. Turns out, she needed to be busy. This recipe in particular was absolutely perfect for her:

IMG_3167

Spaghetti Knots & Polka Dots

The large bowl has extra virgin olive oil with some balsamic vinegar, the glass bowl has melted butter, and the small metal bowl has grated parmesan cheese. To my utter surprise, all three kids liked the oil and vinegar combo. I wasn’t sure they would, but I followed the book and tried it out. The melted butter was my only addition to the recipe. My daughter loved tying knots in the spaghetti, me knot so much. It was rather tedious, but well worth it in the end.

If anyone out there has picky eaters (toddler or not) try some of these recipes. They pretty simple, quick, and healthier than mac’n’cheese or chicken nuggets.

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

