This is Me Procrastinating

There are at least three things I should be doing right now: 1) Dishes – I’m so sick of doing dishes. Do they really have to be done EVERY DAY?? 2) Yu-Gi-Oh! – I should be helping my husband organized those freaking cards because I’m better at organizing than he is, but I really just don’t want to. Aaand 3) Packing – I can think of so many other things I would love to do other than packing. I should be a pro at this by now (thank you military), but it is just an awful, tedious task PLUS I had already packed most of our winter clothes back in late July/early August because that is when we were supposed to transfer. I never thought we’d still be here to see another beautiful fall out here. I love the fall months out here, but now I have to unpack winter clothes just to repack with summer clothes.

Being here in my cozy little internet cave is so much more interesting than any of the other three listed above. What I should be doing right now (other than the three things listed above) is working on my poetry book… man I am slacking. I used to be able to write several poems daily, but now I’ll write part of a poem and find it nearly impossible to complete it. My goal was to submit 200 poems, I’ve got just over 150 that are complete and I’m not sure how many more are incomplete, but I do know that if they were finished I’d hit my goal.

My muses are lazy apparently. They’ll help me out with the first few lines and then they dance off somewhere else leaving me stuck in the mud. Thanks ladies.

I could also be doing some actual work on my other book. I’m reinventing vampires and werewolves. I know, it’s so overdone now, but in my defense I came up with this concept pre-Twilight. I’ve just never made it past the initial character development. Sigh.

Part of my problem is I’m so easily distracted and it’s hard for me to focus back on the task at hand. I lose momentum rather quickly. Honestly, I’m more that likely going to do that with this site too. I hope not, but it’s kind of a pattern with me. I go headstrong for a while and then I just kinda drop off. Never my intention. I’m what you’d call a sprinter I guess. I need to learn how to go long distance.

Alright, I’ve put off my responsibilities long enough I suppose. It’s just not as fun as sitting here with my (third) cup of coffee and my laptop and the freezing rain outside making me just want to snuggle under my Star Trek snuggie…

d4d9_slanket

So this is not a picture of me, but this is a pretty accurate representation lol

Alright, ok, fine, I’m going. Sheesh.

7 thoughts on “This is Me Procrastinating

  1. Yeah, i hear ya there. I actually sat down and started getting in half of my daily goal of writing, but somehow I need to get the other half in. Not the 10k words, but the 3k. Procrastination sucks!! I know I just did dishes like a few hours ago and oh my god, I wanted to just cut my finger open so I could have an excuse to not do them, but I didn’t want my fiance to come home angry at me.

    I know the one thing that keeps pecking at me is knowing that if i can accomplish small goals, I’ll be able to reap the bigger rewards. So I hope things get better for you, what branch were you in?

    Like

    1. I’ve never thought of setting a word goal for myself. The more I think about the better is sounds. I think I’m going to try that.

      I served in the Navy, that’s how my husband and I met. I got out years ago, but he’s still serving.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually based Horizon on a Navy family. That’s pretty cool. Yeah, I’ve been keeping logs of my times when I set to write and seeing when I’m most productive throughout the week creatively so I can set up a schedule. It’s actually pretty crazy so far and kind of fun. I’m so nerdy sorry

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, you’re not the only nerdy one, I make up random lists and charts for no reason other than it’s fun for me. I like organizing and list making and such. I once made a chart of how much sleep I get, but I stopped because it just got depressing lol.

        I look forward to reading your book Horizon, Though I have to be honest, it might be a while. I have a lot of books on my waiting list lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, yes there is. I’m also helping a friend of mine edit his books. He’s got a wonderful, creative mind, but he’s not very good at spelling so I help him spellcheck and correct grammar errors. He has officially labeled me his Grammar Nazi

        Liked by 1 person

What are Your Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

